Home Video Gallery Contact Us Advertise Here
IslandStats.com RSS Feed

Rugby Home
Current Scores
Historical Scores
Photo Gallery
Related Links
Contact Us
IslandStats.com RSS Feed


Thursday, February 04, 2021
Wainwright & Toronto Arrows to Play in Georgia

Marcello Wainwright and his Toronto Arrows teammates will begin its 2021 Major League Rugby season in Marietta, Georgia.

Following the completion of the club’s pre-season training camp in Toronto, which will begin on February 8th, 2021, Arrows personnel will travel to Georgia to establish a home base ahead of the team’s season opener on March 20th, 2021.

Statement from Mark Winokur, Chief Operating Officer & General Manager, Toronto Arrows

“Our organization has worked closely with public health officials at various levels over the past several months to consider plans that would allow us to begin our 2021 season on home soil. However, the ongoing public health situation facing Canadians, along with the pressing need to determine where we will play our home matches, has dictated that we will start our 2021 season in the United States.

Our top priority has always been to play our home games in front of our fantastic and dedicated fans in Toronto, but in order to compete for the MLR Shield this season, we must start south of the border. Our hunt for the championship will begin with us playing in Marietta, Georgia.

The staff at Rugby ATL have been incredibly supportive and have gone the extra mile to make sure we can provide a safe, professional environment for our players and staff. Rugby ATL have great facilities for both training and games, and we’re looking forward to playing there.

We won’t sugar-coat it – the situation won’t be easy for us, as we don’t know if we will based in Georgia for a week, a month, or longer – but we’ll keep our chins up and cross the hurdles as they come. We will do everything we can to provide an entertaining, competitive team for everyone to support, whether in-person or through broadcasts.

We’d like to thank our fans for their understanding and continued support as we navigate the challenges of the ongoing pandemic. We know you’ll be cheering for us from afar, and that support will provide us with plenty of extra motivation in a season unlike any other we’ve experienced. Our ticketing staff will be in touch with our Founders Club members and season ticket holders in the coming days to outline fan-first options for the upcoming campaign.

We know we’re not the first team to experience the challenges of creating a home away from home, and a number of our players were in a similar situation in British Columbia in November for Rugby Canada’s national team camp, so we know it can be done and we are totally confident that we’ll adapt and thrive no matter what comes at us. We can’t wait to play, and more importantly, to play back home, and we know that day will come, hopefully sooner rather than later.”

Revised 2021 Schedule

Week 1 | Saturday, March 20 | Rugby ATL (A)
Week 2 | Saturday, March 27 | Utah Warriors (A)
Week 3 | Saturday, April 3 | Old Glory DC (A)
Week 4 | Saturday, April 10 | Los Angeles Rugby Team (H)
Week 5 | Saturday, April 17 | Seattle Seawolves (H)
Week 6 | Sunday, April 25 | Rugby United New York (A)
Week 7 | Sunday, May 2 | NOLA Gold (A)
Week 8 | Sunday, May 9 | Rugby ATL (H)
Week 9 | Saturday, May 15 | Houston Sabercats (A)
Week 10 | BYE
Week 11 | Saturday, May 29 | New England Free Jacks (A)
Week 12 | Sunday, June 6 | San Diego Legion (H)
Week 13 | Saturday, June 12 | Austin Gilgronis (A)
Week 14 | Sunday, June 20 | NOLA Gold (H)
Week 15 | Sunday, June 27 | Rugby United New York (H)
Week 16 | Sunday, July 4 | Old Glory DC (H)
Week 17 | Sunday, July 11 | New England Free Jacks (H)
Week 18 | BYE
Tuesday, February 02, 2021
Wainwright & Toronto Arrows in the Waiting Game

Like their Canadian counterparts in Major League Soccer, Marcello Wainwright and his Toronto Arrows teammates are wondering where they will be able to play this year.

The when is also up in the air for the Major League Rugby team, in the wake of the decision by the expansion Dallas Jackals to delay their debut until 2022. That has required a revised schedule, yet to be released.

The Arrows say they are ready for whatever comes their way in terms of guidance from local government and health authorities.

“We do have a fully formed Plan B,” said Mark Winokur, the Arrows’ chief operating officer, and GM. “We’ve been working with the league and partner teams. And we have a solid Plan B that kind of piggybacks on another MLR city.

“But our first priority is to play in Canada. So we’re going to give it as much time as we need to see if that can happen. And if it can’t, then we’ll revert to a U.S. spot for as long as we need to be there. And as soon as we can come back to Canada, we’ll come back to Canada.”

Moving south of the border will not be cheap.

“There’s no way around that,” said Winokur. “It’s going to cost us more money to do that than stay here. But we’re working on every possible way to mitigate it. We’re committed to playing and we’re going to make it work.”

On Monday, the San Diego Legion announced it will play its 2021 home games in Las Vegas due to the level of COVID-19 in California. The league plans a dispersal draft “for potential redistribution” of Jackals players for the 2021 season.
Tuesday, January 19, 2021
RAN is Looking to Recognize Positive Role Models

Rugby Americas North (RAN) is looking to recognize positive role models, the difference makers in the region.

RAN is committed to recognizing the positive people, programs, role models, difference makers, and cultures that make the sport of rugby special throughout North American and the Caribbean and are calling for nominations.

RAN is asking for individuals to send a brief description of the individual you are nominating to; bkelly@rugbyamericasnorth.com
Wednesday, January 06, 2021
2021 Ariel Re Bermuda International 7’s Update

The 2021 Ariel Re Bermuda International 7’s has been postponed, the event was scheduled to be held at the Bermuda National Sports Center on Friday and Saturday, March 12th and 13th, 2021.

The 2020 Ariel Re Bermuda International 7s tournament was canceled due to the worldwide spread of Covid-19.
Wednesday, December 30, 2020
RAN Launch New Digital Development Guide

Rugby Americas North launched a new digital development guide, designed to help member unions attract, retain, and educate match officials.

“As rugby continues to grow in our region, the need to increase the quantity and quality of our match officials is crucial,” said RAN’s Regional Development Manager, Erin Kennedy.

The 22-page document features a wide variety of topics related to the issues faced when it comes to developing match officials, including understanding common challenges, strategies for recruitment, how to build a positive culture and diversify your pool, and how to build a successful plan.

“I hope that rugby communities around our region find the ideas in the guide to be useful and that it encourages them to develop and share their own good ideas for recruiting and retaining officials.”

To learn more, unions, clubs, and individuals can find valuable material hosted on various union and independent websites, along with World Rugby’s Passport site, and we recommend that those involved in referee development regularly search for and share current best practices.

Click Here to see the Full RAN Match Official Development Guide

Click Here to see the Full World Rugby’s Passport site for Match Officiating:

Last 75 Headlines

IslandStats.com - Bermuda's Online Sports Source
© Copyright IslandStats.com