Home Video Gallery Contact Us Advertise Here
IslandStats.com RSS Feed

Tennis Home
Current Scores
Historical Scores
Photo Gallery
Related Links
Contact Us
IslandStats.com RSS Feed


Thursday, April 20, 2017
Finnigan & FIT Go Down to Saint Leo

James Finnigan and his No. 48 Florida Tech Menís Tennis teammates took a 5-1 loss against No. 3 Saint Leo during the Sunshine State Conference Tournament held at IMG Academy.

The No. 2 doubles play of the afternoon, saw the duo of Finnigan and JJ Clark staved off the hungry Saint Leo couple of Fransisco Aparicio and Oskar Nurmio 7-5.

Finnigan playing in the number 5 Singles spot went down to Charles Benet 7-5 in the first set, he was down 4-3 in the second set when the match was halted.
Saturday, April 15, 2017
Finnigan & FIT Go Down to Embry-Riddle

James Finnigan and his Florida Institute of Technology Menís Tennis teammates travelled to Daytona Beach to take on Sunshine State Conference provisional member No. 10 Embry-Riddle. Finnigan and his teammates came well prepared to take on their ranked opponent but fell just short, losing 6-3 to Embry-Riddle.

Florida Tech came hot out of the gun in Doubles play winning two of three games, unfortunately Finnigan and Aria Canadell Solana paired up for the first time at the No. 2 doubles position but could not get in sync with one another, ultimately losing 8-0 to Juan Ortiz Couder and Andres Donayre.

Finnigan battled hard in the No. 5 Singles position against Luke de Caires, pushing him to a tiebreaker. Unfortunately, Finnigan was unable to win the tiebreaker and went on to lose, 7-6, 6-4.

Friday, April 14, 2017
Smith 2017 SWAC Womenís Tennis Player of the Year

The 2017 All-SWAC Womenís Tennis Teams were released by the conference office.

Jackson State earned the most recognition highlighted by a Player of the Year nod and one honor on the All-Conference Singles First Team and two additional pairings on the All-Conference Doubles First Team.

Jackson State No. 1 position player Tyler Smith ran the table in conference play for an 8-0 record and was named the 2017 SWAC Womenís Tennis Player of the Year. The Junior from Bermuda was also slotted onto the All-Conference Singles First Team.

Jackson State excelled on the Doubles First Team as well with Smith teaming with Lucia Solio to boast a 5-1 record to snag the No. 2 Doubles First Team selection while partners Dasha Butorina and Nina Zhang were 5-0 at the No. 3 doubles position to also earn First Team honors.

Womenís Tennis

Player of the Year: Tyler Smith, Jackson State

Freshman of the Year: Anastasia Vaganova, Alcorn State

First Team All-SWAC


No. 1 Tyler Smith - Jackson State

No. 2 Marine Cartier, Alabama State

No. 3 Sydney Thomas - Prairie View A&M

No. 4 Shaddae Finley - Prairie View A&M

No. 5 Anastasia Vaganova - Alcorn State

No. 6 Danna Galeano - Grambling State


No. 1 Tanaka Chakanyuka / Stephanie Mbaya - Southern

No. 2 Tyler Smith / Lucia Solio - Jackson State
Sunday, April 09, 2017
Finnigan Wins But FIT Go Down in South Florida

James Finnigan and his Florida Institute of Technology Menís Tennis teammates headed down south to battle the No. 8 ranked Lynn in sunny south Florida but were defeated 8-1.

FIT's hero of the day would be none other than freshman standout Finnigan. Finnigan's parents would come all the way from Bermuda to cheer him on. Finnigan did not disappoint, earning an amazing comeback victory beating Paulo Santos Costa 4-6, 6-2, 10-7.

Finnigan and his Doubles partner Majed Alshaikh went down 9-7 to Jean-Baptiste Mateo and Tristan Houle.
Saturday, April 08, 2017
Smith & Jackson State Fall to Southern Miss

Tyler Smith and her Jackson State Womenís Tennis teammates went down 6 - 1 to Southern Miss in Jackson, Mississippi.

Smith playing in the number one Singles position went down in a third set tiebreaker. Smith taking on Carolin Drescher was down 1 - 0 when she fell in the first set 6-3, but Smith would rebound and win the second set 6-3 to level the match and send it to a tiebreaker third set.

Smith could not find the form needed as she went down 6-1.

In the Doubles Smith teamed up with Lucia Solis and the pair picked up a 6-2 victory over Elena Roca and Rikeetha Pereira in the number two spot.
Last 75 Headlines

IslandStats.com - Bermuda's Online Sports Source
© Copyright IslandStats.com