Home Video Gallery Contact Us Advertise Here
IslandStats.com RSS Feed

Cycling Home
Current Scores
Historical Scores
Photo Gallery
Related Links
Contact Us
IslandStats.com RSS Feed


Sunday, October 06, 2019
Cousins & Durkin Win President Cup 2019

Jamie Cousins and Maddie Durkin
The Bermuda Bicycle Associationís President Cup race proved to be full of twist and turns as Jamie Cousins and Maddie Durkin were crowned the Male and Female Champions.

VT Construction/Madison rider Cousins clinched a maiden victory in the annual Presidents Cup after a powerful two man effort assisted by junior Nic Narraway. The race which takes in a full 100 kilometer circuit of the island was billed as another opportunity for Dominique Mayho to demonstrate his dominance and to create a window for the juniors to shine through.

Leaving St. George after approximately 25 kilometers a lead breakaway including Cousins, Mayho, Narraway, Alexander Miller and Caitlin Conyers and they quickly established a gap of over a minute on the chasing peloton.

With the strong tailwind pressing the riders westward, this was now clearly the winning move. Unfortunately, as the pace at the front eased slightly on Shark Hole Hill, a brief touch of wheels by Alexander Miller brought him down quickly and Conyers as well.

Mayho stopped to check on Conyers while Cousins and Narraway continued and formed the winning pair. Though Mayho eventually rejoined the chase, the wind was out of his sails and the lead duo continued to expand their lead.

Coming into the final stretch on Harbour Road Cousins was able to out-power his younger rival to take the victory and the Silver Cup in a time of 2:35:07. Junior Male winner Narraway was second in 2:35:08 and Mayho came home in third on his own in a time of 2:40:05 and junior Liam Flannery won the sprint from the remnants of the peloton, including impressive pre-juniors Moses Johnson and Cameron Morris.

Durkin was clocked in a time of 2:43:03 which put her across the line 16th overall, Ashley Couper was the second female finisher and 21st overall clocking 2:51:06 and Nicole Mitchell was the third female finisher and 23rd overall.

Conyers, despite her crash was able to eventually continue and completed the course though in pain.

Click Here to see the Full 2019 Bermuda Bicycle Associations President Cup Road Race Results

Last 75 Headlines

IslandStats.com - Bermuda's Online Sports Source
© Copyright IslandStats.com