Home Video Gallery Contact Us Advertise Here
IslandStats.com RSS Feed

Volleyball Home
Current Scores
Historical Scores
Photo Gallery
Related Links
Contact Us
IslandStats.com RSS Feed


Sunday, January 14, 2018
NORCECA Announce CAC Games Teams
NORCECA Confederation announced the participating countries in the double-gender Volleyball Tournament at the Central American and Caribbean Games in Barranquilla, Colombia this summer.

Cristobal Marte Hoffiz, President of NORCECA certified that Colombia (host), Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela will compete in both genders while Costa Rica qualified among the female teams and Guatemala among the male sides.

The Dominican Republicís teams are the defending champions for both events.

The Dominican women have won the last four editions of the Games while their menís compatriots won their first gold in Veracruz 2014 by dethroning Puerto Rico Ėwinners in San Salvador 2002, Cartagena 2006 and Mayaguez 2010- in five close sets.

In beach volleyball, for the first time in the history of the Central American Games, the tournaments will consist of 24 pairs per gender.

The countries to be represented in both tournaments are Colombia, Venezuela, Cuba, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Trinidad & Tobago, U.S. Virgin Islands, El Salvador, Jamaica, Guadeloupe, Honduras, Cayman Islands, St Lucia, St Kitts & Nevis, Suriname and Dominica.

Antigua & Barbuda, Belize, Grenada and Panama will compete only in the womenís event while Barbados, Aruba, Haiti and Curacao qualified to compete in the menís tournament.

Last 75 Headlines

IslandStats.com - Bermuda's Online Sports Source
© Copyright IslandStats.com