Home Video Gallery Contact Us Advertise Here
IslandStats.com RSS Feed

Cycling Home
Current Scores
Historical Scores
Photo Gallery
Related Links
Contact Us
IslandStats.com RSS Feed


Sunday, June 24, 2018
Bermuda Road Race Championships 2018

Mayho Leading the Pack up Frog Lane
Dominique Mayho and Caitlin Conyers are the 2018 Road Race National Male and Female Champions, Matthew Oliveira was crowned the Junior Male Champion.

Following an attack by Mayho’s teammate Jamie Cousins of VT Construction - Madison and Adam Kirk of Winners Edge, Mayho, Conor White and Gary Raynor, both Winners Edge bridged up to the two leaders along with Kwame Curling of VT Construction - Madison.

The ensuing laps saw numerous attacks which, along with the heat, took its toll on the group. Heading into the final lap it was Mayho who remained strong enough to control the group and he powered home on the last lap clocking a winning time of 2:56:23. Curling and White charged up the hill to Prospect together with Curling surging to the lead on the final steep section, securing second place in 2:57:19 and White was third in 2:57:20.

Pre-race favorites Cailin Conyers of Bicycle Works and Nicole Mitchell of Winners Edge sprinted to finish the women’s race with Conyers clocking 1:56:10 edging out Mitchell who was clocked at 1:56:13, Rose-Anna Hoey rounded out the podium with a time of 1:58:52.

In the Junior Men’s race Oliveira of Hot Tubes and Kaden Hopkins of Winners Edge distanced themselves from the rest of the field on the first of three laps and then duked it out for the National Title with Oliveira taking a 14 second win, he was clocked at 1:39:42 and Hopkins was clocked at 1:39:56. The battle for third was between Ziani Burgesson f VT Construction - Madison, Nicholas Narraway and Alexander Miller both Winners Edge riders. The teammates Miller and Narraway alternated their attacks on Burgesson and on the last lap Narraway escaped solo to round to take third in 1:54:37.

The lone Junior Female contestant Alyssa Rowse was unable to finish, leaving the title vacated for 2018.

Open Male Road Race

2:56:23.425 Dominique Mayho - V.T. Construction – Madison

2:57:19.143 Kwame Curling - V.T. Construction - Madison
2:57:20.782 Conor White - Winners Edge
2:57:28.170 Jamie Cousins - V.T. Construction - Madison
2:58:22.404 Gary Raynor - Winners Edge
3:02:49.914 Alan Mooney - Tokio
3:02:55.210 Andrew Simons - Independent
3:02:58.563 Steven Millington - V.T. Construction - Madison
3:03:03.681 Philip Mace - V.T. Construction - Madison
3:03:28.718 Simon Hanrahan - Winners Edge
3:04:05.392 Darren Glasford - Winners Edge
3:18:29.398 Jason Kyme - Tokio
3:21:15.795 Ricky Smith - Winners Edge
3:21:53.709 Wouter Aarts - Tokio
3:02:22.986 Stephen Paynter - Independent
DNF Adam Kirk - Winners Edge
DNF Keino Williams - V.T. Construction - Madison
DNF Mark Hatherley - Winners Edge
DNF Adam Harbutt - V.T. Construction - Madison
DNF Dennis Fagundo – Tokio

Open Female Road Race

1:56:10.425 Caitlin Conyers - Bicycle Works

1:56:13.918 Nicole Mitchell - Winners Edge
1:58:52.660 Rose-Anna Hoey - V.T. Construction - Madison
2:01:18.851 Cora Lee Starzomski - V.T. Construction - Madison
2:01:50.260 Karen Smith - Winners Edge
2:03:19.757 Jamie-Lee Wright - Bicycle Works
2:22:45.146 Christine Da Costa - Independent
2:26:01.242 Jennifer Wilson - Independent
DNF Sharon Hammond - Bicycle Works
DNF Maddie Durkin - Tokio

Junior Male Road Race

1:39:42.188 Matthew Oliveira - Independent

1:39:56.326 Kaden Hopkins - Winners Edge
1:54:37.411 Nicholas Narraway - Winners Edge
1:58:42.971 Alexander Miller - Winners Edge
1:58:43.426 Ziani Burgesson - V.T. Construction - Madison
2:11:11.526 Liam Flannery - Tokio
2:11:14.988 Keiran Malott - Independent
2:17:59.466 Nazarai Fox - BCA
2:18:08.591 Thomas Quarterly – BCA

Last 75 Headlines

IslandStats.com - Bermuda's Online Sports Source
© Copyright IslandStats.com